NC State

STEM Education Initiative

Wake-NC State Early College High School


We were involved in some of the early planning of the Early College High School, a collaboration between NCSU and Wake County Public School System. The Initiative also provided two complete SCALE-UP classrooms which are being used extensively for math, science, and robotics.

Upon graduation, students have accumulated two years of college credit through their joint coursework with NC State.

For more information, please visit their website.


North Carolina School of Science and Math


This world-class, residential high school in Durham, the first public residential high school in the nation with a STEM focus, has a long history with NC State. Part of the UNC System, the STEM Education Initiative provides advice and equipment to help teachers as they develop state-of-the-art instruction. We have donated items to enhance the Distance Education and Extended Programs branch of the school, the department that focuses on outreach and state-wide education. This site is more specific to the outreach efforts, which the collaboration with NCSU is enhancing. And this site explains more specifics on the Interactive Video Conferencing courses, which have used donated equipment. This allows students at my remote sites to engage in direct data collection.

Guilford High School


Rice Strange, physics teacher at Northwest Guilford High School in Greensboro, has worked for many years with Initiative faculty as he develops new and innovative instructional materials.

Here is his web page.

Windward School


The STEM Education Initiative has a long history of working with this independent 7-12 school in Los Angeles, CA. They have incorporated and adapted our SCALE-UP model to much of their instruction.

More info can be found on their extensive website.


We are also supporting similar North Carolina efforts at Gravely Hill Middle School, Cary Academy, Raleigh Charter HS, Buncome County Schools, Charlotte Mecklenburg Schools, and Wake Tech, Fayetteville Tech, Rowan-Cabarrus, Davidson County, and Isothermal Community Colleges along with UNC-Chapel Hill, UNC-Charlotte, UNC-Greensboro, NC A & T State University, East Carolina University, Western Carolina University, Winston-Salem State, Elon University, Johnson C. Smith University, Meredith College, Fayetteville State, and Shaw University.